Once the passing score for step1 or step 2ck is achieved, one cannot retake the exam in order to achieve a higher score, therefore it is important to be prepared to achieve high score.

USMLE consist of three steps :

1. STEP 1       -       Basic science exam
2. STEP 2CK -       Clinical knowledge exam
3. STEP 2CS  -       Clinical Skills exam
4. STEP 3       -       Patient Management skills

Step1, Step2CK & Step2CS can be taken in any order. Step1 & 2CK can be given in India at Thomson prometric centers whereas one Step2CS & Step3 can only be given in the United States.